‘Twas the night before race day, and I’ll be lying in bed.
With all that could go wrong, running through my head.
My mind won’t stop, Did I forget a shoe?
Where is my sports bra? Will I be able to make it all the way through?

While other slumber easily, into restful sleep,
I lie awake wistfully hoping I’ll be able to sleep.
If I sleep in, I’ll curse and I’ll holler!
For this here said race could help me make a fair dollar.

I check my alarm for the fifty-eighth time,
As my thoughts drift back to the nasty rope climb.
Did I train hard enough? Did I run enough miles?
What crazies partake in running lifestyles?

Will it be windy? Will it be cold? Will it be hot? Will it rain?
Will there be traffic? Can I park? I’m going insane!
What if trained for months and months at the wrong pace?
Is there a free beer tent at the end of the race?

And I know my race pics will look like crap,
But then I’ll finish and can just take a nap.
To make up for sleep I lost here tonight.
So happy race day to all and to all a good post-race night!

