Like many other families summer time tends to get busy, hence my poor neglected blog. Here is a little update of what’s been going on and will be going on just in case I don’t get to doing another blog for a while.

At the start of the year I decided I would do my first ever marathon but couldn’t decided on what one I wanted to do so I did two. The Spartan Race was a challenge for sure and I had a blast volunteering at the event. The Dirty Dash was the next one but was a total blast and I look forward to doing it again next year. I’m proud of myself for trying to do something new and putting me going to the gym to real use (I find I went to the gym more when I had something to train for).

This summer has also included my son “graduating” from preschool and making me one proud mommy. My only real update on my lovely little man is that at the start of summer he was diagnosed with functioning autism (Aspergers) but I love him none the less because he will always be my son. Nothing has really changed in how I will raise him things just make a lot of sense now to why he does the things he does. I’m nervous about him going into Kindergarten in the fall because I don’t want him to be treated “special” because even though he has autism he still loves to learn and I don’t want to see that love of learning be squashed because the education system sees him as “disabled“. I’ve thought about homeschooling him but I feel bad that he would be missing out on the chance to make friends and experience school. The fact that the teachers where I live are on strike so that adds to my mommy dilemma, which seems to be turning into a “wait and see” sort of game. 

Other then all this not much else has been going on. My birthday has come and gone, treated like just another day. We’ve lived in our new home for a little over six months and I finally have it decorated inside and out the only thing left is for me to get a new bed for myself. The only real negative thing that is looming around is that my ex-husbands trial starts next week and I’m very nervous in the sense that I don’t want to see the justice system fail again. As I keep telling myself though, this is something I have 100% no control over and will just have to find a little faith in that the people in the trial will see how serious his charges are and keep him locked up for a long time so he doesn’t hurt anyone again.

Well that’s about as much of an update as this will be, I would promise to get back onto my normal once or twice a week blogging but I don’t see that happening until September. The summer fun is calling and I really must listen since my son and I are outdoor people and much rather spend time near the water then hiding out at home.

Much love and positive thoughts to all my followers, I hope no one who follows my blog is going to be effected by the back to back hurricanes that are heading for Hawaii, the many tornado’s that seem to make the news every night or that horrible mine spill in central British Columbia. Be safe everyone and remember to spend time with family and loved ones.

